Blagdon in the Community

The Whitley Excellence Cluster (WEC)WEC logo

Blagdon Nursery School is a member of The Whitley Excellence Cluster (WEC). The organisation is comprised of 10 schools, which together support over 4000 pupils from nursery to secondary school.   These schools are:

Reading Girls School, The John Madejski Academy, Geoffrey Field Junior School, Geoffrey Field Infant School, Christ the King Primary School, Whitley Park Primary and Nursery School, The Ridgeway Primary School, New Christ Church Primary School and Blagdon Nursery School.

The schools in Whitley have been working closely together for over 30 years. WEC originally received funding from the Department of Education but although funding ended in 2011, WEC has continued through the creation of a charity, Aspire2. The charity was established to support the Whitley Excellence Cluster and is dedicated to improving the lives of Whitley families by supporting activities in and around the area, including the residential centre at Ufton Court. For more information about Aspire2, please click here.

WEC has drawn up a Children’s Charter and a Mission Statement, setting out what we aim to achieve for the children of Whitley.  This was revised in October 2015.

Our Mission Statement:

‘The schools in Whitley pledge to deliver above and beyond the National Curriculum’.

The Children’s Charter:

On leaving school, our children will be:



Emotionally Engaged

Engaged with the Arts

Physically active

and will present as confident human beings


For more information on WEC, please watch the video below:


You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please